Deep in thought I found myself wondering what it is about LoL that has me so wrapped up and always wanting more. Disturbed by the obsession with the game I began to contemplate ways to GET said “more” out of it. Here I am a 23 year old man playing competitive e-sports. The average LoL player is between 21-30 years of age so I fit right in with that demographic but when I watch the LCS I cant help but feel old. The pros I see are rarely older than me if any are at all. According to this post http://tinyurl.com/n9zyjhd the pro player Ocelote makes close to 1 million a year.

This has me worried b/c how can I recently unemployed(though promising prospects of jobs are making themselves known to me on a daily basis) begin to really advance in this system of LoL. I would like to progress in my rank and hold some renown to my name. I do not have said budget to even come close to be able to access all of the necessary Runes or Champions to make such leaps and bounds of practice in order to make progress. Believe me after crunching the numbers and doing the research I feel somewhat hopeless in this effect.

an_ally_has_been_slain__by_ladymuggins-d7gavrt

WARNING THE FOLLOWING INFORMATION MAY LEAVE YOU EXTREMELY SHOCKED AND MAY CAUSE INOPERABLE DAMAGE TO YOUR LIFE:

The amount of IP needed to own ALL Runes:133785IP average amount of time it would take to accrue this much IP based on a 50/50 win ratio including daily win bonus is 38 days of straight play 24 hours a day. NO RP BUYOUT!

The amount of IP needed to own ALL Champions:477450IP average amount of time it would take to accrue this much IP based on a 50/50 win ratio including daily win bonus is 135 days of straight play 24 hours a day. With an RP buyout at no less than $600!

Together these would require an individual to play the game for more than half a year straight. All of this aside I know there are folks who dont mind playing their limited supply of champions and just enjoy having fun in blind and draft normals but if you ever feel like you need more out of the game think about these stats.

Im not going to go into the rest of the costs bc I feel like this is substantial enough. Given that if someone were to spend that time working would be able to receive over $30,000 for their time at $.25 above minimum wage at a period of more than half a year considering that the salary for $7.50 is $15,000 a year at 40 hours a week. This game has become more than a fulltime job for many people and increasingly continues to make revenue based off of these inflated prices of ingame currency.

So if you have ever wondered how it is possible for LoL to possibly make money then here is my question to you. How much is your time actually worth? The money comes from you especially when you are only spending $5 at a time for RP.

Leave a Reply

